Brief History of Eastern Regional Police Command

The Eastern Regional Police Command was established on 16/3/48 under the Command of Mr. A. L. Alexander. The Regional Headquarters was housed at the now Police Training School (PTS), Koforidua and since its inception up to date is headed by fifty-three (54) Regional Commanders with the current Regional Commander being DCOP/Mr. Yaagy Akuribah.
The Eastern Regional Police Headquarters was moved from the old building to the current building on 21/8/02 under the command of DCOP/Mr. E. B. Ansong. The Eastern Regional Police Headquaters have responsibilities and command over the following units: RCID, RMTTU, Legal/Courts, Regional Police Clinic, PRO, DOVVSU, PTS, ICT, Workshop, Finance, Communication, Cobra/RDF and recently established Anti-Human Trafficking Unit.
The Regional Police Command is made up six (6) Divisions, twenty-two (22) Districts and one hundred stations. The Divisions are; 
  Koforidua Division which comprise of Central District, Asesewa District, Begoro District and New Tafo District with sixteen stations under them.

  Oda Division is made up of seven (7) Districts namely; Oda District, New Abirem District, Akim Swedru District, Kade District, Akwatia, Asamankese and Ofoase District which have twenty-four (24) stations within.

  Kibi Division has four (4) Districts which includes Kibi, Suhum, Nsawam and Anyinam Districts and comprised of seventeen (17) stations.

  Nkawkaw Division also have three (3) Districts under it which are Nkawkaw, Mpraeso, and Donkorkrom Districts with thirteen (13) stations.

  Akropong Division with two (2) Districts namely; Akropong and Mampong Districts with eleven (11) stations.

  The last but not the least is the Akosombo Division which was curved out of the Akropong Division. The Division have three (3) Districts comprising of Akosombo, Somanya, and Akuse Districts with eleven (11) stations.
The Regional Headquarters is manned by the Regional Commander and his deputy, fifteen (15) SPOs and four hundred and eight (408) other ranks.
The entire region currently has a total staff of One thousand, nine hundred and eighty-four (1,984) made up of fifty-nine (63) SPOs, one thousand, nine hundred and twenty-one other ranks and one hundred and thirteen Recruit Constables.